2018 CGNSW Hall of Fame

25 January 2018

Three outstanding contributors to sport and the Commonwealth Games movement have just been announced for induction into the Commonwealth Games NSW Hall of Fame.


Ivan Lund – Lund was Australia’s leading fencer of the mid-20th century and won 13 medals (3 gold in epee) during four Games 1950-1962. He was the Australian Flag Bearer in both the opening and closing ceremonies at the 1958 Cardiff Games, and at the 1962 Perth Games he gave the oath at the opening ceremony. Lund was then appointed to the next three Games, firstly as the Fencing Manager-Coach followed twice in HQ as Administration Officer. Lund passed away in 1992, aged 62.


David Palmer OAM – Australia’s greatest ever male squash player, Palmer made his Commonwealth Games debut in Kuala Lumpur in 1998. Seven medals were won from 2002 to 2010. The long-awaited CG Gold Medals were finally secured in 2014 at Glasgow in both the men’s doubles and mixed doubles. The Gold Coast event will be Palmer’s 6th Commonwealth Games, equalling CGNSW Hall of Famer Phillip Adams as the most prolific NSW athlete representative in history.


Arthur Tunstall OBE – Tunstall was heavily involved in HQ from 1962 to 1994 and achieved the most Games representation by any Australian athlete or official. Tunstall’s eight Games include three as Chef-de-Mission and two as General Manager. He was also an outstanding servant and contributor to CGNSW for a period exceeding 65 years initially as the boxing delegate then Honorary Secretary/Treasurer (25 yrs) followed by Division President (24 yrs). Tunstall passed away in 2016, aged 93.


This is only the second CGNSW Hall of Fame induction. The initial inductees in 2014 were Phillip Adams, Marjorie Jackson-Nelson, Petria Thomas, Ian Thorpe and Michael Wenden. The three latest additions are joining illustrious company.